deutsch | english
Showcase Beat Le Mot



PREMIERE 7.10.2010 // HAU1 BERLIN //



"Paris 1871 Bonjour Commune" is a production by Showcase Beat Le Mot in co-production with Hebbel am Ufer Berlin, Steirischer Herbst Graz and Kampnagel Hamburg.



Funded by the governing mayor of Berlin - Senatskanzlei - cultural affairs and the Hansestadt Hamburg - Bureau for culture, sport and media.



The revolution is a picture-machine. Since the end of the 18th century, the use of large paintings of battle scenes and landscape pictures has been replaced by representations of historical moments, which arrange the warlike and put these short moments of anarchy in a form. Fateful necessity is the message. Certain events meld together with their case history and their effects and become a metaphor, which is able to pathetically inflate political and social constraints. These images of important and all-deciding moments of comic-culture and documentary photography continue until present times.





"Paris 1871 Bonjour Commune" is the third part of a quadrology, which deals with failed revolutions. The revolt and the conquering of Paris in the year 1871 is becoming a representation, that also failed like the referring revolution. It only prevails in the pictures, that were constructed provisionally to give the riven bodies and destroyed visions and forgotten destinies a sense.



The Berliner performance-group Showcase Beat Le Mot, which in clear dissociation from the structures of the citie´s theatres way of working, more likely compares itself with a band and chances to deal in the usual anarchical briskness with an aware pathetic act of creation, in which the grey of chaotic days is being divided in nump light and noiseful darkness.



Performance, Text, Space, Costume, Choreography:

Showcase Beat Le Mot

Music: Miguel Ayala, Einzelkind

Production Management: Olaf Nachtwey

deutsch | english
Die Revolution ist eine Bildermaschine: Seit Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts haben die großformatigen Schlachtenmalereien ausgedient – sie wurden abgelöst von Darstellungen historischer Augenblicke, die das Kriegerische ordnen und die kurzen Momente der Anarchie in eine Form gießen. Schicksalhafte Notwendigkeit und Unausweichlichkeit, das ist die Botschaft. Konkrete Ereignisse fließen mit ihrer Vorgeschichte und ihren Folgen zusammen und werden zu einer Metapher, die politische und soziale Zwänge pathetisch überhöht. Bis in die Gegenwart setzt sich die Vorstellung vom bedeutsamen, alles entscheidenden Augenblick in Comic-Kultur und Dokumentarfotografie fort.
„ PARIS 1871 BONJOUR COMMUNE “ ist der dritte Teil einer Quadrologie, die sich mit gescheiterten Revolutionen beschäftigt. Der Aufstand und die Belagerung von Paris im Jahr 1871 wird zu einer Repräsentation, die ebenso scheitert, wie die dazugehörige Revolution gescheitert ist. Gesiegt hat sie nur in den Bildern, die sie sich notdürftig bastelte, um im Nachhinein den zerrissenen Leibern, zerstörten Visionen und vergessenen Schicksalen einen Sinn zu geben.
Die Berliner Performance-Gruppe Showcase Beat le Mot, die sich in klarer Abgrenzung zu den Arbeitsstrukturen der Stadttheater lieber mit einer Band vergleicht, wagt sich mit gewohnt anarchischer Forschheit an einen bewusst pathetischen Schöpfungsakt, in dem das Grau der Chaostage in stummes Licht und lärmende Dunkelheit geschieden wird.

"PARIS 1871 BONJOUR COMMUNE“ ist eine Produktion von Showcase Beat le Mot in Koproduktion mit Hebbel am Ufer, Steirischer Herbst und Kampnagel Hamburg.

Gefördert durch den Regierenden Bürgermeister von Berlin – Senatskanzlei – kulturelle Angelegenheiten und die Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg, Behörde für Kultur, Sport und Medien.

Performance, Text, Raum, Kostüme: Showcase Beat Le Mot
Musik: Einzelkind
Choreographie: Showcase Beat Le Mot, Dorothea Ratzel
Bauten: Atia Trofimoff, Christian Wenzel
Grafik: Anne Luft
Projektionen: Friedemann Hanewinckel
Regieassistenz: Stefan Rüdinger
Produktionsleitung: Olaf Nachtwey